District

Welcome to the Center Point-Urbana Community School District!

Our Mission: The mission of the Center Point-Urbana Community School District is to develop successful, life-long learners by providing a safe and caring environment, a stimulating curriculum, and a dedicated staff working with supportive parents in a friendly, small-town atmosphere. 

The Center Point-Urbana (CPU) Community School District is a growing district that serves students in the communities of Center Point and Urbana.  The district’s main buildings include:

District Office

Exterior of Center Point-Urbana district office

High School
Grades 9-12

Exterior of Center Point-Urbana high school

Middle School
Grades 6-8

Exterior of a school building with a brick sign that says "Public School 1903" in the foreground

Intermediate
Grades 3-5

Center Point-Urbana Intermediate School sign

Primary
Grades PK-2

Exterior of a school building with an American flag and a sign that says "Center Point-Urbana Elementary School" in the foreground

District Office Information

Address

202 W Main Street /PO Box 296
Urbana, IA 52345
Phone: 319-849-1102 Ext. 6013
Fax: 319-849-2312

Office Hours

7:30 AM to 4:00 PM 
Monday – Friday

District Office Staff

Matt Berninghaus, Superintendentmberninghaus@cpuschools.org
John W. Elkin, Assistant Superintendentjelkin@cpuschools.org
Kristy Bruce, Business Managerkbruce@cpuschools.org
Julie Klawiter, Registrar & Board Secretaryjklawiter@cpuschools.org
Shiela Cooksley, Accounts Payablescooksley@cpuschools.org
Autumn Moyer, HR Assistant (Fridays only)amoyer@cpuschools.org

Department Directors

Melissa Hocking, Director of School Improvement & Special Servicesmhocking@cpuschools.org
Troy Burkhart, Transportationtburkhart@cpuschools.org
Will Engelbrecht, Maintenancewengelbrecht@cpuschools.org
Logan Holtz, Custodial Serviceslholtz@cpuschools.org
Scott Kriegel, Activities Directorskriegel@cpuschools.org
Brenda Wyse, Food Servicebwyse@cpuschools.org